The Numbers Game

As we reach the end of yet another year, let’s look back at the season of speed, wins and another championship victory.

We (and we mean our engineers) look at endless amounts of numbers week in, week out throughout the season to get the drivers across the line, ideally at the top of the podium.

Now, it’s our turn to take a look at some of the (fancier) numbers after the 2017 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship has wrapped. So here goes…

1 – The number Jamie “J-Dub” Whincup will display on his car as the reigning Supercars champion.


Shane van Gisbergen of Red Bull Holden Racing Team wins the Clipsal 500, at the Adelaide Street Circuit, Adelaide, South Australia, March 05, 2017.

3 – The longest winning streak of wins by any driver in this year’s championship – Shane van Gisbergen had three across Clipsal and Tasmania.

4.52 – The average qualifying position of J-Dub this year – second best behind Scott McLaughlin.

4.78 – SVG’s qualifying average this season – the third best, behind team mate Jamie Whincup.

7 – The number of Drivers Championships won by J-Dub – a record!

Jamie Whincup of Red Bull Holden Racing Team wins the 2017 Supercars Championship at the , at the , , , November 26, 2017.

8 – SVG has finished in the top six in the Drivers Championship for the past eight years in a row.

10 – J-Dub has finished top two in the Drivers Championship 10 times since 2007 (11 years).

22 – The highest amount of top 10 results this year, achieved by our very own Jamie Whincup.

26 – Jamie Whincup was the only driver to have a 100% finishing record in this year’s championship across the whole season – starting and finishing all 26 races.

Jamie Whincup of Red Bull Holden Racing Team during the , at the , , , October 08, 2017.

33 – The consecutive shootout appearances of SVG dating back to Bathurst 2012.

Shane van Gisbergen of Red Bull Holden Racing Team during the Vodafone Gold Coast 600, at the Surfers Paradise , Gold Coast, Queensland, October 22, 2017.

133 – J-Dub has finished 133 races in a row, a streak that began at the Gold Coast 600 in 2013.